For a little bit more background information on the schools that we are highlighting in our project, Lacey Township and Pitman School districts, I decided to look up the two different lunch menus. As Tarrah had already told us, the menu for Pitman is drastically different from what I can remember when I was buying school lunches. There are four different options for lunch: the menu lunch, bagel lunch, hot dog lunch, and peanut butter and jelly bag lunch. Though the hot dog lunch did raise some questions in my mind, I found this to be pretty standard. What I found unique was that right on the top of the menu, it says every lunch consists of one daily entree, vegetable, fruit, and milk. I think this is a very noble idea. I should definitely be helping the students with their portions and with their choices.
Though Lacey Township does not seem to be advertising this information as much, it appears that they offer the same kinds of options as Pitman. They do note at the top that all pizza and bread products contain wheat or whole grain products when possible, and all milk and cheese is low-fat or fat-free. I think it is very interesting that they are advertising this information for the parents and students. It is definitely helpful in alerting them that they are taking the next step to examine their student's needs, which I



Leave a Reply.